USDA authorizes emergency grazing and haying of CRP acres for some Illinois counties 

More than 80 counties in Illinois have been authorized to use Conservation Reserve Program acres for emergency haying and grazing for the remainder of fiscal year 2023.  Illinois Beef Association executive vice president Josh St. Peters says the first thing cattle producers should do is contact their local Farm Service Agency office.  “Make sure that your county has been included in the declarations and that your specific CRP acres are qualifying as well,” he says.  “Because there are certain circumstances where some CRP may not qualify.”

He tells Brownfield the emergency period began on August 2, 2023, and runs through September 30, 2023.  “We’ve got a narrow window of time for folks to get in there and graze on those acres or get in there and cut forages and get it bailed,” he says.  “So contact the FSA office, make a plan, and be sure to get that done before October 1st.”

The USDA says authorized producers can use CRP acreage for their own livestock OR may grant another livestock producer use of the CRP acreage.  Participants are limited to one hay cutting and are permitted to sell the hay. 

In counties that have received emergency authorization for haying and grazing, the same CRP acres cannot be both hayed and/or grazed at the same time. 

Beginning August 2, 2023, Adams; Alexander; Bond; Boone; Brown; Bureau; Calhoun; Carroll; Cass; Champaign; Christian; Clark; Clinton; Coles; Cook; Crawford; Cumberland; Dewitt; Dekalb; Douglas; DuPage; Edgar; Effingham; Ford; Franklin; Fulton; Greene; Grundy; Hancock; Hardin; Henderson; Henry; Iroquois; Jackson; Jasper; Jefferson; Jersey; JoDaviess; Johnson; Kane; Kankakee; Kendall; Knox; LaSalle; Lake; Lee; Livingston; Logan; Macon; Madison; Marion; Marshall; Mason; Massac; McDonough; McHenry; McLean; Menard; Mercer; Monroe; Morgan; Moultrie; Ogle; Peoria; Perry; Piatt; Pike; Pope; Pulaski; Putnam; Randolph; Rock Island; St. Clair; Sangamon; Schuyler; Scott; Shelby; Stark; Stephenson; Tazewell; Union; Vermilion; Warren; Washington; Whiteside; Will; Williamson; Winnebago and Woodford counties will be eligible for emergency haying and grazing. 

AUDIO: Josh St. Peters, Illinois Beef Association

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!