Additional Illinois counties eligible for drought assistance

US Ag Secretary Tom Vilsack has issued additional drought disaster designations in Illinois.

McDonough, McHenry and Mercer counties have been deemed primary counties under the declaration meaning producers are now eligible for emergency loans from the USDA’s Farm Service Agency to aid in recovery from drought during the 2023 growing season.

Producers in contiguous counties qualify for the same assistance including Boone, Cook, DeKalb, Henderson, Henry, Kane, Lake and Rock Island.

Producers in 24 other counties are also eligible through disaster declarations announced earlier this year including Adams, Calhoun, Cass, Fulton, Hancock, Jackson, Knox, Logan, Mason, McDonough, McLean, Menard, Monroe, Peoria, Perry, Pike, Randolph, Schuyler, St. Clair, Tazewell, Warren, Washington, Woodford and Union.

Eligible producers should contact their local USDA Service Center to file a Notice of Loss.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!