Passionate about beef? Check out this ag scholarship

Passionate about the beef industry? The Missouri CattleWomen’s Association has a $1,000 scholarship for a qualified full-time college student. Applicants must be at least a sophomore with a GPA of 2.5/4.0 or better and a Missouri resident. They must also be full-time students who will be younger than 23 years old on Jan. 1, 2015…. Read more »

Wisconsin auctioneer contest to benefit FFA Foundation

The Wisconsin Auctioneers Association will again host the annual State Champion Auctioneer Contest at state fair this year.  The annual event will be 1 pm, Tuesday, August 5th on the main stage in the Case I-H Coliseum.  A number of the items being sold by the contestants will benefit the Wisconsin FFA Foundation.  Among the… Read more »

FFA American Star Finalists named

The National FFA Organization has named the finalists for each of the American Stars: American Star Farmer Alan Barka, Litchfield FFA Chapter (Minnesota) – Barka owns a dairy cattle operation, in which he manages and sells the milk produced. Josh Stutrud, Rugby FFA Chapter (North Dakota) – Stutrud manages his own diversified agricultural livestock and… Read more »

U.W. Madison’s Shaver recognized for dairy research

Dr. Randy Shaver of the University of Wisconsin-Madison has been awarded the American Dairy Science Association Nutrition Research Award for his professional achievements. The award was established in 1948 to promote and stimulate research in dairy cattle nutrition and is jointly sponsored by the American Feed Industry Association and ADSA. A native of Pennsylvania, Shaver… Read more »

Pierce County presents Ag Youth Awards

Kim Carlson and Bailey Tinker pose with their prizes as they are awarded this year’s Pierce County Fair Ag Youth Award in Pierce, Nebraska. The award is sponsored by KK93 FM. Kim Carlson, 17, of Pierce County is the daughter of Lonnie and Tracy Carlson. She is a senior at Pierce Public High School where… Read more »

WCCI chooses two “Youth in Agriculture” award recipients

WCCI 100.3 FM is proud to announce that Brett Meador of Lena is this year’s winner of the “Youth in Agriculture” award for Stephenson County.  Brett is a 2014 graduate of Lena-Winslow High School and will be attending Iowa State University in the fall. Brett is the son of Rick & Mary Meador and has one… Read more »

Retallicks honored by Junior Angus Association

Wisconsin Junior Angus Association advisors Kevin and Keri Retallick have been named the National Junior Angus Association Advisors of the Year.   The Retallicks have been named WJAA advisors of the year five times, and in 2002 they were co-chairs of the NJAS held in Milwaukee.   The NJAA Advisor of the Year Award was… Read more »

Two Iowa youths receive Ag Youth Awards

Two Sioux County 4-H participants received 2014 Brownfield Ag Youth Awards from KSOU-FM in Iowa. KSOU-FM partnered with Brownfield Ag News to offer this year’s award. Recipients Edan Lambert of Orange City, Iowa, and Mitchal Punt of Maurice, Iowa, were nominated for outstanding 4-H work. Lambert shows livestock and participates in communication events. The 2013… Read more »

Apply online for National DHIA scholarship

College students associated with the National Dairy Herd Information Association may be eligible for one of several $750 scholarships available this year. Full-time incoming and continuing students at technical and two-year and four-year colleges/universities are eligible to apply. Scholarships are awarded on academic achievement, leadership, community activities and work experience. Knowledge of DHIA and response to application questions… Read more »

U.W. Platteville hit by tornado

The University of Wisconsin-Platteville will resume normal activities on Thursday.  The campus was closed for two days to assess the damage from an EF-2 tornado which struck the campus Monday. There are no classes underway at the University but a couple of camps were taking place. The storm did serious damage to the roofs of two dormitories;… Read more »