June 1, 2018

The Honorable Sonny Perdue United States Secretary of Agriculture 1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Dear Secretary Perdue:

As public servants representing farmers, biofuel producers and their family members across seven states, we write to offer our support as you combat special interests seeking to undercut homegrown biofuels and deprive American farmers of a vital market for U.S. crops.

At a time when foreign nations are imposing unfair trade barriers on the U.S. agricultural sector and farm income has plummeted to a 12-year low, it is vital that rural communities can count on a strong voice within the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). Your efforts in the weeks ahead will be pivotal as the USDA and U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) work to implement the president's pledge to restore growth opportunities for homegrown energy.

As you know, on May 8, President Trump announced plans to immediately lift outdated regulations that have destroyed demand for millions of gallons of homegrown biofuels. For years, antiquated and self-defeating regulations on Reid Vapor Pressure (RVP) have forced 15-percent ethanol blends (E15) off the market each summer. The rules were drafted long before lower-cost E15 was introduced, resulting in standards that restrict E15 while permitting less eco-friendly options to be sold all year.

A fix cannot come soon enough - for farmers, for biofuels producers, or for drivers who prefer to save money while supporting clean air and American jobs.

Unfortunately, the EPA has yet to take concrete steps toward implementing the president's decision. Administrator Scott Pruitt is still reviewing the issue, as he has been since at least October 2017, when he promised action in a letter to Midwest lawmakers. These delays, along with a range of regulatory gimmicks proposed by anti-biofuel interests in Washington, can no longer be tolerated.

The plunge in farm income has left too many families struggling, concerned about foreclosure or worse. History shows that the ripple effect of an agricultural decline won't be limited to rural communities. The time for action is now. We're counting on you to be rural America's most powerful voice in the White House and at the table with the EPA.

Again, thank you for your commitment to restoring economic opportunities for families in our communities. Please know that you can count on our support as you drive an E15 fix over the finish line and stand firm against special interests that would undercut vital markets for U.S. crops.

Sincerely,

State Representative Tony Albright (Minnesota)

State Representative Allen Andrews (Missouri)

Commissioner of Marion County Andy Appelfeller (Ohio)

Trustee of Marion Township Larry Ballinger (Ohio)

State Representative Joan Ballweg (Wisconsin)

State Senator Lydia Brasch (Nebraska)

State Senator Tom Briese (Nebraska)

State Representative Robert Cupp (Ohio)

State Representative Matt Dean (Minnesota)

State Senator Justin Eichorn (Minnesota)

Former Jefferson County GOP Chairwoman Janet Engelbach (Missouri)

Alderman for the City of Arnold E.J. Fleischmann (Missouri)

State Senator Jason Frerichs (South Dakota)

State Senator Curt Friesen (Nebraska)

State Senator Mike Green (Michigan)

State Senator Bob Hackett, Chair of the Senate Agriculture Committee (Ohio)

State Senator Frank Hoagland (Ohio)

State Representative Michele Hoitenga (Michigan)

State Representative James Hoops (Ohio)

State Representative Joe Hoppe (Minnesota)

State Senator Dan Hughes (Nebraska)

State Senator Joe Hune (Michigan)

Former Assistant Secretary, U.S. Department of Agriculture Pat Jensen (South Dakota)

Congressional Candidate Dusty Johnson (South Dakota)

Councilman for the City of Geneva Eric Kamler (Nebraska)

Member of the University of Nebraska Board of Regents Paul Kenney (Nebraska)

State Representative Deb Kiel (Minnesota)

State Senator Mark Kolterman (Nebraska)

State Representative David Leland (Ohio)

State Representative Oren Lesmeister (South Dakota)

State Senator Lou Ann Linehan (Nebraska)

State Representative Warren D. Love (Missouri)

State Senator John Lowe (Nebraska)

State Representative Tim Miller (Minnesota)



State Senator Jeff Monroe (South Dakota)

Commissioner of Marion County Kerr Murray (Ohio)

State Representative Jeff Mursau (Wisconsin)

State Representative Lee Nerison (Wisconsin)

State Representative Bud Nornes (Minnesota)

State Senator Sean O'Brien (Ohio)

State Representative Don Rone Jr. (Missouri)

Mayor of Marion Scott Schertzer (Ohio)

State Representative Michael Sheehy (Ohio)

State Representative Tim Sneller (Michigan)

State Senator Dan Sparks (Minnesota)

Commissioner of Marion County Ken Stiverson (Ohio)

State Representative Gary Tauchen (Wisconsin)

Trustee of Marion Township Lynn Thomas (Ohio)

State Representative Paul Torkelson (Minnesota)

State Representative Travis Tranel (Wisconsin)

State Senator Joe Uecker (Ohio)

State Senator Dan Watermeier (Nebraska)

State Senator Matt Williams (Nebraska)

Mayor of Greenville Steve Willman (Ohio)

State Representative Nick Zerwas (Minnesota)

cc: President Donald Trump, Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Scott Pruitt

