Wisconsin counties now eligible for USDA disaster assistance

Eighteen southern Wisconsin counties are eligible for USDA natural disaster emergency loan assistance because of persistent drought conditions.

The five primary counties are Columbia, Dane, Iowa, Jefferson, and Sauk.  Producers in the thirteen contiguous counties are also eligible for disaster aid.  They are Adams, Dodge, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Juneau, Lafayette, Marquette, Richland, Rock, Vernon, Walworth, and Waukesha.

Emergency loans can be used to replace essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganize a farming operation, or refinance certain debts.

Interested farmers can contact their local USDA Service Center to ask questions or file a Notice of Loss.  Resources are also available online at

The application deadline is March 11th, 2024.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!