Who will become House Ag Committee Chair

There’s speculation on who will chair the House Agriculture Committee following Collin Peterson’s defeat in Minnesota.

Peterson has been a strong voice for traditional commodity and conservation programs for 30 years and a staunch defender of programs benefitting Midwest farmers.

The top candidates for the post, based on seniority are Representatives David Scott of Georgia, Jim Costa of California, and Marcia Fudge of Ohio.

Fudge has been a strong advocate for child nutrition, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program recipients, access to locally grown food, fair labor practices, and more.

Scott has secured funding for the farm bill and land grant universities and co-authored a law to reform the federal dairy program.

Costa worked to increase federal support for agriculture through the farm bill and introduced legislation to protect dairy families.

The House Agriculture committee has jurisdiction over a range of ag and rural issues including the farm bill, renewable energy, disaster assistance, nutrition, crop insurance, and more.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!