Thompson voted House Ag chair

Republicans have named Glenn GT Thompson as the chair of the House Committee on Agriculture for the 118th Congress. 

The party’s steering committee held their vote Wednesday.

Thompson tells Brownfield he plans to audit agriculture programs to find unspent dollars, educate colleagues and the administration about how farmers positively impact climate and the economy, and he’ll try to get the farm bill done on time.

The current chair, Democrat David Scott, congratulated Thompson and says he is, “encouraged by the bipartisan work we have accomplished together, particularly around our shared interest in broadband and access to USDA programs for our new and small producers.”  Scott says, “Heading into the 2023 Farm Bill, I am hopeful and prayerful that the collegial spirit will continue and that the Agriculture Committee will be able to deliver a farm bill with strong Republican and Democratic bipartisan support.” 

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!