Thompson to join Scott in House Ag Committee leadership

Both parties have now selected their leaders for the House Ag Committee.  The Republican steering committee voted Wednesday and chose Glenn “GT” Thompson from Pennsylvania to take over when Texas Congressman Michael Conaway retires. 

Democrats selected Georgia Congressman David Scott Tuesday, replacing Minnesota’s long-time chair Collin Peterson.

After Wednesday’s vote, Thompson said he is humbled to have been elected by his colleagues.  The descendant of generations of dairy farmers says, “The challenges ahead of us are considerable, but we will continue to put farm families first and ensure our country has the most safe and affordable food supply chain on the planet.”

Both Scott and Thompson must be approved by the full party caucuses before assuming their new roles.  Democrats plan to vote on Scott’s selection Thursday.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!