Senate names farm bill conferees

Work on the 2018 Farm Bill can continue now that the Senate has named nine members to the conference committee.

Majority Leader Mitch McConnell appointed Ag Committee chair Pat Roberts and Ranking Member Debbie Stabenow along with Senators John Boozman, John Hoeven, Joni Ernst, Patrick Leahy, Sherrod Brown, and Heidi Heitkamp to serve with him as they meet with 29 House members to iron out the final farm bill language.

Roberts and Stabenow issued a statement saying, “This strong group of Senate conferees knows how to work together on a bipartisan basis to get the Farm Bill across the finish line,” and they look forward to beginning the conference process to provide certainty to farmers, families, and rural communities.

The major challenge will be working out differences between the House and Senate bills in the SNAP or Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program.  McConnell has said he would like to see a final bill ready before Labor Day.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!