Update: Republicans select House Ag members

The Chairman of the House Agriculture Committee is anxious to get to work on the next farm bill as soon as the new committee is complete.

Glenn GT Thompson tells Brownfield Republicans will select their new ag committee members today.  “Republicans will be populating our committees actually later tonight (Monday). This evening, I’ll be back in Washington for that with the Steering Committee. My Democratic friends, I hear it’s towards February, towards the end of the month and then we’ll get started. In Washington, it will be a very intense schedule.”

Thompson says it’s important to get the committee in place quickly as he would like to get bipartisan farm bill listening sessions set up in many regions between February and July and have the farm bill pieces in place by late summer.

The current farm bill expires in September.

House Republicans issued this update Monday evening:

House Ag Committee Returning Members for the 118th Congress
Rep. Glenn “GT” Thompson (PA-15), Chairman
Rep. Austin Scott (GA-08)
Rep. Rick Crawford (AR-01)
Rep. Scott DesJarlais (TN-04)
Rep. Doug LaMalfa (CA-01)
Rep. David Rouzer (NC-07)
Rep. Trent Kelly (MS-01)
Rep. Don Bacon (NE-02)
Rep. Dusty Johnson (SD-AL)
Rep. Jim Baird (IN-04)
Rep. Tracey Mann (KS-01)
Rep. Mary Miller (IL-15)
Rep. Barry Moore (AL-02)
Rep. Kat Cammack (FL-03)
Rep. Brad Finstad (MN-01)

New Members
Rep. Frank Lucas (OK-03)  
Rep. John Rose (TN-06)
Rep. Ronny Jackson (TX-13)
Rep. Mark Alford (MO-04)
Rep. Lori Chavez-DeRemer (OR-05)
Rep. Monica De La Cruz (TX-15)
Rep. John Duarte (CA-13)
Rep. Nick Langworthy (NY-23)
Rep. Max Miller (OH-07)
Rep. Marc Molinaro (NY-19)
Rep. Zach Nunn (IA-03)
Rep. Derrick Van Orden (WI-03)

NOTE: The House Steering Committee is responsible for recommending Members to serve on standing Committees in the House of Representatives. The recommendations are subject to approval by the House Republican Conference.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!