New Illinois Corn president focused on national policy

Newly elected ICGA President Matt Rush and immediate Past President Marty Marr at the 2022 Illinois State Fair

Finalizing the Next Generation Fuels Act and 2023 Farm Bill are top priorities for the new president of the Illinois Corn Growers Association.

“If we accomplish both of those things this next year, it will be a huge win for us.”

Matt Rush of Fairfield in Wayne County tells Brownfield Representative Cheri Bustos of Illinois, who introduced the Next Generation Fuels Act did not run for reelection, so they are tasked with finding new sponsors and educating newly elected lawmakers.

“We feel like this is an opportunity to bridge the gap between now and the mandate of electric vehicles, whenever that might be, to keep utilizing ethanol as a clean burning healthy fuel for the environment.”

He says communication with policy makers will be crucial as they work to keep crop insurance in the 2023 Farm Bill.

“We surveyed our members and crop insurance is the number one thing they want to see in that bill, so we will educate our congressmen and women and hopefully keep that in there.”

Rush was elected during the IL Corn Growers Association’s annual meeting Tuesday. Vice President Dave Rylander of Victoria, Treasurer Sarah Hastings of Sidney and Secretary Joe Murphy of Harrisburg will serve alongside him in the coming year.  

Interview with Matt Rush

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!