Indiana Farm Bureau Young Farmer awards


Indiana Farm Bureau will be well represented next month at the American Farm Bureau Federation’s annual meeting in San Diego.  Chris and Marah Steele of Adams County will compete for the American Farm Bureau’s Excellence in Ag Award.  In addition to working off the farm, the Steele’s own and operate a corn maze and you-pick pumpkin patch.

Chris tells Brownfield their entrance into production agriculture wasn’t typical.  “We’re kind of a first generation farm in some terms,” he says.  “I’m the fifth generation to be on the farm, but my parents didn’t farm.  In some sense – we’re a start-up, a first generation farm.”

Chris and Marah Steele, Young Farmer Excellence in Ag Award

George and Carly Kakasuleff of Hamilton County are the 2014 INFB Young Farmer Achievement Award.   “It’s an award that recognizes you on your achievement,” he says.  “Not only in farming, but also the activities you’ve participated in in Farm Bureau.  Farm Bureau is something Carly and I have been involved in since we were invited to be on the state Young Farmer Committee while we were on our honeymoon.”

George and Carly Kakasuleff, Young Farm Achievement Award

Jeremy Barron of Noble County is the winner of the Indiana Farm Bureau Young Farmer Discussion Meet.

Next month, all three winners will compete at the American Farm Bureau  Annual Meeting in San Diego.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!