Indiana Farm Bureau recognizes young farmers

Indiana Farm Bureau has named its three Young Farmer award winners.

Matthew and Brianna Chapman of Henry County received the Young Farmer Achievement Award.

The family raises corn, soybeans, wheat, and pigs.

Matt Chapman tells Brownfield they have been applying for the award for seven years.

“It definitely has helped us measure our growth and set goals and see us achieve them over those seven years,” he says.

Audio: Matt Chapman, Young Farmer Achievement Award

Jeff Demerly of White County received the Excellence in Agriculture Award for his work in his ag retail business, Demerly Ag Plus.

Demerly tells Brownfield the most rewarding aspect of his job is working with farmers to improve their bottom line.

“Each decision we make on an operation on behalf of their family changes their direction,” he says.

Audio: Jeff Demerly, Young Farmer Excellence in Agriculture Award

Deidra Gottbrath of White County is the discussion meet winner.

She tells Brownfield the discussion meet helps energize and encourage her as a young farmer.

“People are going through the same thing, people have gone through much worse previously, and people continue to have bad times,” she says. “But, there are so many positives and so many ways that we have a voice through membership in this organization.”

Audio: Deidra Gottbrath, Discussion Meet Winner

The three winners will represent Indiana at the American Farm Bureau annual meeting in January in Nashville.

The INFB Excellence in Agriculture Award winners receives a John Deere Gator and $3,000. The Achievement Award winner receives $6,000 and 250 hours’ free use of one M-Series Kubota tractor.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!