Indiana Farm Bureau names young farmer award winners

Indiana Farm Bureau has named its 2019 Young Farmer award winners.

Eric and Megan Scheller of Vanderburgh County received the INFB Young Farmer Excellence in Agriculture Award.

Eric grew up on the family farm helping his father with their row crops. He continues work on the farm and works as a diesel technology instructor. Megan works off the farm as a registered wound care nurse and is working toward a master’s degree to become a nurse practitioner.  

Both said it was an honor to receive the award.

“It’s a complete honor and a complete blessing that they chose us out of all the applicants,” Megan says.

“My dad is working on his 50 year membership and to have someone like that working alone is a blessing as well and to have him look at us and say that’s my son and daughter-in-law and they received this excellence in ag award…it’s been a dream come true,” Eric says.

Audio: Eric and Megan Scheller

The Schellers are active in Farm Bureau, serving on the county Farm Bureau board and attending Young Farmers and Ag Professionals events.

Aaron and Lacey Sheller of Hamilton County received the INFB Young Farmer Achievement Award.

Aaron, a seventh-generation farmer, and Lacey, a sixth-generation farmer, raise non-GMO waxy corn, seed soybeans, cattle, and swine.

Aaron took over as manager of the family farm in 2004 after the unexpected death of his father. He says the application process for the award was awarding and allowed him to reflect on his experience.

“When you lose your dad at 20 years old and you’re thrown into being the boss, you don’t have a lot of time to look back and reflect because it’s been full throttle forward for 15 years,” he says. “We had not taken the time really until this point to look back and reflect on what all has changed (on the operation).”   

Lacey says winning the award is confirmation they’re doing a good job on their operation.

“It’s been extremely rewarding to hear from other people that we’re on the track with what we’re doing, and I just cannot wait to see how things are going to progress from here,” she says.

Audio: Aaron and Lacey Sheller

The Shellers are active in their county Farm Bureau and Aaron currently serves as the Young Farmers and Ag Professionals chair for Hamilton County.

The INFB Young Farmer Excellence in Agriculture Award recognizes young farmers who do not derive the majority of their income from an owned production-agricultural operation. The Schellers will receive a John Deere Gator, a $3,000 cash prize, and an all-expenses-paid trip to compete at the American Farm Bureau annual convention in Austin, Texas in January. 

The INFB Young Farmer Achievement Award recognizes young farmers who earn the majority of their income from their farms. The Shellers will receive a $6,000 cash prize, 250 hours of free use of one M-Series tractor, and an all-expenses paid trip to compete at the AFBF annual convention. The winners also will be awarded the David L. Leising Memorial Award.

Winners and finalists will be recognized at the INFB state convention this December in French Lick.

  • Aaron, you may also phone ralph but , my caption phone does not always work , 614-235-9965. One case number


Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!