Indiana Corn Growers Association is seeking board candidates

Indiana Corn Growers Association is encouraging growers who want to advocate for agriculture to federal and state lawmakers to add their name to the ICGA board 2023 election ballot.

The organization’s governing districts match Indiana’s nine Congressional districts and in 2023, ICGA will elect board directors for Districts 1, 4, and 7.  

ICGA President Scott Smith, a corn farmer from Windfall says, “Participation is crucial at every level of the political process. From county zoning boards to the state legislature to the USDA and EPA, we need to keep our eyes and ears open for rules and regulations that may impact how we farm. If farmers do not participate in the process that creates new policies and rules for Indiana agriculture, then people who don’t understand farming will write those laws. I encourage anyone with a passion for these issues to join us on the ICGA board.”

Candidates must be an ICGA member who is current on membership dues; own, manage or operate a farm that produces corn; and reside in the district they represent.

District 1 includes Lake, Porter and the northwest corner of LaPorte counties. District 4 includes Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clinton, Hendricks, Jasper, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Putnam, Tippecanoe, White, Warren and parts of Cass, Fountain and Howard counties. District 7 includes most of Marion County.

Election applications are due to the ICGA office by Jan. 27.

Ballots will be mailed to members in May and must be returned by June 30. Winners will start serving in December 2023.

Click here for more details, to find a district map, or download an application. Submit all completed materials to Amber Myers at

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!