Five MO counties designated as natural disaster areas

Ag Secretary Sonny Perdue has designated five southwest Missouri counties as primary natural disaster areas.

Because of drought conditions, producers in Barry, Christian, Greene, Lawrence and Stone counties will be eligible for USDA Farm Service Agency emergency loans. Producers in the surrounding 11 counties will also be eligible to apply for an emergency loan including two counties in Arkansas.

USDA said the natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend ‘much-needed credit’ to producers recovering from natural disaster.

Farmers need to contact their local USDA service center to apply. The deadline to apply for an emergency loan is June 16, 2021.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


stay up to date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!