Finalists announced in statewide young farmer contests

Finalists in this year’s Indiana Farm Bureau Young Farmer Achievement and Excellence in Agriculture Award have been announced.  The finalists in both categories are from different parts of the state, and represent achievement and leadership in agriculture.

The YFEA award recognizes young farmers who do not drive the majority of their income from an agricultural operation.  This year’s finalists are Tom and Jamie Schilmiller of Floyd County, Chris and Marah Steele of Adams County, and Nick and Julie Wenning of Decatur County.

Young farmers that earn the majority of their income from their farms are recognized with the Young Farmer Achievement Award.  This year’s finalists are Craig and Mindy Fruechte of Adams County; George and Carly Kakasuleff of Hamilton County; and Matt and Kristen Schafer of LaPorte County.

The Indiana YFEA winner receives a John Deere Gator, courtesy of Farm Credit Services; $3,000 cash prize form Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, and all expenses paid to the 2013 AFBF annual meeting in San Antonia, TX.

The state YFAA winner receives a $6,000 cash prize from Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, 250 hours maximum free use of one M-Series tractor from Kubota, the David L. Leising Memorial Award, and expenses paid to the 2013 convention.

Runners up in both contests receive $1,000 cash prizes from Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!