Disaster designation made for 12 Illinois counties recovering from flooding

Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack has issued a disaster designation for farmers in 12 Illinois counties who experienced losses from excessive moisture and flash flooding this past spring and summer.

Secretary Vilsack determined there were significant production losses in Calhoun, Cass, Edgar, Jefferson, Jersey, McLean, Macoupin, Monroe, Morgan, Moultrie, St. Clair, and Sangamon counties. USDA natural disaster designations also include contiguous counties adding 32 more eligible counties to the list; Brown, Champaign, Christian, Clark, Clinton, Coles, DeWitt, Douglas, Ford, Franklin, Greene, Hamilton, Livingston, Logan, Macon, Madison, Marion, Mason, Menard, Montgomery, Perry, Piatt, Pike, Randolph, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Tazewell, Vermilion, Washington, Wayne and Woodford.

The designation allows USDA’s Farm Service Agency to provide emergency loans to producers in those counties. Farmers should contact their local USDA service center to file a Notice of Loss.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!