Arkansas farmer named USB Chair

The United Soybean Board has elected Arkansas Farmer Jim Carroll as chair.

“My farm consists of about 3500 acres- most of it is family owned and we’re nearly 100 percent irrigated,” he says. “My wife and I are partners with my brother and his wife. We have a crew of H-2A workers and we’re raising rice, soybeans, corn.”

He tells Brownfield he’s looking forward to the new role.

“One thing I’ve always regarded in this group is that we’re all volunteers and don’t get paid and it’s great being around these guys who are some of the smartest farmers in the nation and really have their heart set on making the soybean crop better,” he says.

Carroll was elected during the annual United Soybean Board meeting in St Louis. In addition, 19 new directors, appointed by Ag Secretary Sonny Perdue, were sworn in by the USDA.

USB also elected nine directors to serve alongside Carroll on the executive committee including Dan Farney of Illinois as vice chair, David Iverson of South Dakota as secretary, Meagan Kaiser of Missouri as treasurer, Tom Oswald of Iowa, and Mark Seib of Indiana.

USB also elected members to the strategic management committee including Doug Winter of Illinois and Ed Lammers of Nebraska.

USB leadership guides the activity of the national soy checkoff in accordance with the strategy outlined by the 78-member board. USB focuses on three priority areas: meal, oil, and sustainability.

Audio: Jim Carroll, United Soybean Board

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!