Illinois Pork Producers Association awards

Every year the Illinois Pork Producers Association recognizes individuals who have contributed time and effort to improving Illinois’ pork industry. 

The 2013 award winners:

The Distinguished Service Award went to Ted Funk, Former Extension Agricultural Engineer.  For the last 32 years, Funk has worked for the University of Illinois as an Extension Agricultural Engineer, specializing in livestock facilities, alternative energy, and rural family housing.  He has been a tremendous resource for pork producers on a variety of production and environmental issues.

The 2013 Illinois Pork Producer Family of the Year went to Haag Farms of Emington, Ill.  For more than 44 years, the Haag family has been an integral part of the pork industry in Livingston County.  By working together as a family they have been able to adapt their operation and grow their business, all while being good stewards of the land and a valuable member of their community.

Michelle Abel of Glasford, Ill. received the Pork Promoter of the Year Award for her dedication promoting the pork industry and its products.  For several years she has been a true advocate for animal agriculture and volunteered her time at the local, regional, and state level.

The winners were recognized at the IPPA awards banquet earlier this week at the Illinois Pork Expo.

Email this to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Print this page

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *